Blog, Read, The Arachne Project

Arachne Reads: The Wife Between Us

Book Review: The Wife Between Us

by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

I selected this book because it promised a warped love triangle and a twisty turny plot, both of which I love. The Anita Shreve quote on the cover nails the description: “Fiendishly clever…in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.” This book was hard to put down. I could have easily read it in one sitting if my life had cooperated.

The story is told in dual POV between two women narrators. Both voices were unique, and the characters themselves were well-developed. I was sucked right in and held until the first twist. And then I was immediately hooked and drawn into the next portion of the story. It’s a serious page-turner.

Without going into spoiler territory about the plot itself, I did have some issues with the ending being a little too neat and tidy. In our book club discussion, several of us found ourselves shaking our heads at some details, while wanting lots more info on a certain other thing that was revealed.

Recommended for suspense fans. 4/5 stars.

~add a comment~